'Mr. Robot,' 'Transparent' Lead Gotham Awards' Breakthrough Series Nominees

USA Network

USA Network


The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) has announced the Breakthrough Series nominees for the 25th Annual IFP Gotham Independent Film Awards, which will take place November 30 at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City.

This year marks the first time the Gotham Awards have honored television, and two awards will be given to long-form and short-form series that expand the possibilities of creative, independent storytelling. 10 series have received nominations, with five nominees in each category. The award honors series that premiered within the timeframe of September 1, 2014 - August 30, 2015 and were chosen by juries that included Indiewire's TV Editor Liz Shannon Miller, The Hollywood Reporter's Tim Goodman and more. 

The 2015 IFP Gotham Independent Film Award Breakthrough Series nominations are:

Breakthrough Series – Long Form
"Jane the Virgin," Jennie Snyder Urman, Creator (The CW)
"Mr. Robot," Sam Esmail, Creator (USA Network)
"Transparent," Jill Soloway, Creator (Amazon)
"Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt," Tina Fey, Robert Carlock, Creators (Netflix)  

"UnREAL," Marti Noxon, Sarah Gertrude Shapiro, Creators (Lifetime)

Breakthrough Series – Short Form
"Bee and PuppyCat," Natasha Alllegri, Creator (Cartoon Hangover)
"The Impossibilities," Anna Kerrigan, Creator (seriesofimpossibilities.com)
"Qraftish, Christal," Creator (Blackgirldangerous.com)
"Shugs and Fats," Nadia Manzoor and Radhka Vaz, Creator (ShugsandFats.TV)

"You’re So Talented," Sam Bailey, Creator (Open TV)